Android L developer preview released on AOSP

by

So what we do know is the preview offers code support for the Nexus 4, Nexus 5, Nexus 7 2012 WiFi, Nexus 7 2012 Data, Nexus 7 2013 WiFi, Nexus 7 2013 Data, and Nexus 10.

Since the official introduction of Android L last week at I/O, the news about the new operating system keeps on rolling in. Last week we reported the official launch of Android L and this was followed by a stream of leaked L features which were quickly modified for use by third party developers. Now it seems we are here again.

This morning Google released the most comprehensive developer preview of L’s source code through the AOSP (Android Open Source Project). This provides developers with a real in-depth view of the L’s operating system in a much more comprehensive manner.

A number of news articles are claiming that this allows for developers to already modify the code and release various L ROM’s already which will be music to many android users’ ears. However this is not correct and here at ./themukt.com we want to set the record straight. Yes, Google have released a source code developer’s preview but this is only a developer’s preview and is not a completer picture. This will not be enough for developers to offer complete L based ROM’s and instead allows developers to see how the operating system will work in conjunction with the already released L features seen last week.

As Google notes on the official preview page

The L Developer Preview is intended for developer early adopters and testers. If you are interested in influencing the direction of the Android framework, give the L Developer Preview a try and send us your feedback”.

So what we do know is the preview offers code support for the Nexus 4, Nexus 5, Nexus 7 2012 WiFi, Nexus 7 2012 Data, Nexus 7 2013 WiFi, Nexus 7 2013 Data, and Nexus 10.

So if you are a developer (or simply curious about what is happening) you can head over now to the AOSP page to get a better insight to the L preview.

We will keep you posted on more information when we receive it.

John Anon
A guy who has travelled too much and seen most of the world has to offer. Now just fascinated with technology with a specific focus on Android, custom mods and personalizing devices to represent us all better. When not playing with his phone or tablet can be found in the kitchen cooking up a storm.